Shake Your Head

Various & Gould: „Face Time Relief – Napoleon Komplex“, Berlin 2022

Shake Your Head

Nov 18th, 2022 – Jan 14th, 2023,
Schacher – Raum für Kunst, Stuttgart

Solo show “Shake Your Head” by Various & Gould, plus Musicbox by Jim Avignon

Art for head-shaking? If so, it should follow the rhythm of the city! The Berlin-based urban art duo Various & Gould will be exhibiting at the gallery “Schacher – Raum für Kunst” from November 18th. At the opening of their exhibition “Shake Your Head” (Fri Nov 18th, 7pm) Marko Schacher will introduce the work, after which the show will be on view in the gallery until Jan 14th, 2023, accompanied by Jim Avignon’s interactive musicbox in the “Project space”.

There are many kinds of head-shaking, such as wonder and outrage, or exuberance and enthusiasm. Various & Gould have already experienced all of these emotions as reactions to their art. That’s a good thing, because nothing would be more boring than art that only evokes indifference. “We participate and add something to the city,” says the art duo in the new ARD documentary “Street & Urban Art.”
True to this motto, the two have already left their screen prints and paper collages on several houses in Stuttgart’s west in May of this year. Now they are showing their lively, multicolored works at Galerie Schacher.

The change from the street to the interior is quite a challenge in street art, but Various & Gould master it without their works losing any of their consistency. The two studied at the Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee and have been working as a duo since 2005. They were brought together by their love of paper, their enthusiasm for the random beauty in everyday life and, above all, a shared passio for working in public spaces. Various & Gould see their urban environment as an artistic medium with which to make an impact on society.

Various & Gould: „Face Time Relief – Shake Your Head“, Detail, Berlin 2022

In controversial times, when right-wing politicians get worked up strategically about gender issues and rainbows and push the boundaries of what can be said with racist outbursts, Various & Gould oppose this with art with attitude by consciously and confidently celebrating human diversity in their mixed-media works. The dynamic collages of their “Face Time” series, for example, breathe the spirit of Dada and continue the lineage of Hannah Höch and Romare Bearden into the present day. For these literally multi-layered collages, Various & Gould broke down a wide variety of faces into individual parts and completely reassembled them.
It feels like a vigorous rattling of heads will shake up stereotypes and sort perspectives differently.

In Stuttgart, along with other series of works, a film documentary of the project “Monumental Shadows” will be shown, which was realized one year ago together with Colonial Neighbours / SAVVY Contemporary and other artists. Together they wrapped the Bismarck Monument in Berlin with papermaché and then symbolically took this paper cast off the pedestal in order to illuminate colonial traces in the culture of remembrance.

In addition, Jim Avignon (who will occupy the Schacher main room from January 20th, 2023) will show his interactive musicbox in the project room of the gallery. Furthermore, together with Various & Gould, some collaborational artworks on paper were created especially for the show.

SHAKE YOUR HEAD – Soloshow by Various & Gould

parallel: Jim Avignon and his interactive Musicbox

Opening: Friday November 18th, 2022, 7 – 11pm
with an introduction by Marko Schacher


Schacher – Raum für Kunst
Galerienhaus 3.0
Breitscheidstr. 48
70176 Stuttgart-West

Duration: Nov. 18th, 2022 – Jan 14th, 2023
Open: Tue-Fri 2pm – 7pm, Sat 11am – 4pm
ArtVents special sale & events: Dec. 17th, 11 – 6 pm

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Shake Your Head

Various & Gould: „Face Time Relief – Napoleon Komplex“, Berlin 2022

Shake Your Head

18. November 2022 – 14. Januar 2023,
Schacher – Raum für Kunst, Stuttgart

Einzelausstellung „Shake Your Head“ von Various & Gould, plus Musicbox von Jim Avignon

Kunst zum Kopfschütteln? Wenn, dann bitte im Rhythmus der Stadt! Das Berliner Urban-Art-Duo Various & Gould stellt ab dem 18. November in der Galerie „Schacher – Raum für Kunst“ aus. Zur Eröffnung ihrer Ausstellung „Shake Your Head“ (Fr 18.11., 19 Uhr) wird Marko Schacher in das Werk einführen, anschließend ist die Schau bis zum 14. Januar 2023 im Galerienhaus zu sehen, begleitet von Jim Avignons interaktiver Musicbox im „Projektraum“.

Es gibt viele Arten des Kopfschüttelns wie z. B. Verwunderung und Empörung oder auch Ausgelassenheit und Begeisterung. Various & Gould haben all diese Regungen bereits als Reaktionen auf ihre Kunst erlebt. Das ist gut so, denn nichts wäre langweiliger als Kunst, die nur Gleichgültigkeit hervorruft. „Wir beteiligen uns und fügen der Stadt etwas hinzu“, sagt das Kunstduo in der neuen ARD-Doku „Street & Urban Art“.
Getreu diesem Motto haben beide bereits im Mai ihre Siebdrucke und Papier-Collagen auf mehreren Häusern im Stuttgarter Westen hinterlassen. Nun zeigen sie ihre lebendigen, vielfarbigen Werke in der Galerie Schacher.

Der Wechsel von der Straße in den Innenraum stellt bei Street Art durchaus eine Herausforderung dar, die Various & Gould jedoch meistern, ohne dass ihre Werke an Konsequenz einbüßen. Die beiden haben an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee studiert und arbeiten bereits seit 2005 als Duo. Zusammengebracht hat sie u. a. die Liebe zum Papier, die Begeisterung für die zufällige Schönheit im Alltag und vor allem ein gemeinsames Faible für die Arbeit im öffentlichen Raum. Die urbane Umgebung begreifen Various & Gould als künstlerisches Medium, mit dem man in der Gesellschaft wirken kann.

Various & Gould: „Face Time Relief – Shake Your Head“, Detail, Berlin 2022

In kontroversen Zeiten, in denen rechte Politiker*innen sich mit Klickzahl-Kalkül über Gendersternchen und Regenbögen echauffieren und mit rassistischen Ausfällen die Grenzen des Sagbaren verschieben, setzen Various & Gould Kunst mit Haltung dagegen, indem sie in ihren Mixed-Media-Werken ganz bewusst und zuversichtlich die menschliche Vielfalt feiern. So atmen die dynamischen Collagen ihrer Serie „Face Time“ den Geist von Dada und führen die Linie von Hannah Höch und Romare Bearden in die heutige Zeit fort. Für diese buchstäblich vielschichtigen Collagen haben Various & Gould verschiedenste Gesichter in Einzelteile zerlegt und völlig neu zusammengesetzt. Es fühlt sich so an, als würde ein kräftiges Rütteln der Köpfe die Vorurteile durcheinanderwirbeln und die Ansichten anders sortieren.

In Stuttgart wird neben weiteren Werkserien eine filmische Dokumentation des Projekts „Monumental Shadows“ gezeigt, das vor einem Jahr gemeinsam mit Colonial Neighbours / SAVVY Contemporary und weiteren Künstler*innen verwirklicht wurde. Zusammen haben sie das Berliner Bismarck-Denkmal mit Papier eingepackt und diese Hülle dann symbolisch vom Sockel geholt, um koloniale Spuren in der Erinnerungskultur zu beleuchten.

Ergänzend zeigt Jim Avignon, der ab dem 20. Januar 2023 die Schacher-Haupträume bespielen wird, im sogenannten „Projektraum“ der Galerie seine interaktive Musicbox. Zudem wird zusammen mit Various & Gould eine gemeinsame, limitierte Edition mit Unikats-Charakter entstehen.

Für Samstag 17.12., 11–18 Uhr, ist ein „ArtVentsSonderverkauf“ geplant, während dem u. a. Restbestände von Drucken, Künstlerbüchern und Vinylplatten der drei Künstler*innen erstanden werden können.

Various & Gould – Shake Your Head
(Mixed-Media-Collagen, Siebdrucke, Urban Art)

Plus im Projektraum: Jim Avignon und seine interaktive Musicbox

Vernissage: Fr 18.11.2022, 19–23 Uhr
Einführung: Marko Schacher

Schacher – Raum für Kunst
Galerienhaus 3.0
Breitscheidstr. 48
70176 Stuttgart-West

Öffnungszeiten: Di–Fr 14–19, Sa 11–16 Uhr
Laufzeit: 18.11.2022 – 14.01.2023

ArtVentsSonderverkauf / Aktionen: Sa 17.12., 11–18 Uhr

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!