Monumental Shadows – Rethinking Colonial Heritage

  • Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

  • Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

  • Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

  • Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

  • Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Photo (detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

Monumental Shadows – Rethinking Colonial Heritage

Berlin, August – October 2021

Project by Various & Gould in collaboration with Colonial Neighbours (SAVVY Contemporary).

“Monumental Shadows” is a participatory project in public space that takes the memory of colonial figures off the pedestal and shifts the shadows of history and the present.

Even as more and more European countries begin to come to terms with their colonial history, far-reaching shadows dominate their culture of remembrance. Formerly colonizing and colonized countries are linked by a complex, violent past that reverberates to the present day. The art project “Monumental Shadows” explores memory culture through artworks and monuments that continue to inscribe colonial history in public space. In a combination of artistic collaboration, substantive debate and public discussion, the connection between colonialism and contemporary racism is made visible.

For “Monumental Shadows” a series of seven artistic paper impressions of monuments in Europe is planned. Against the historical background of the Berlin “Congo Conference” (1884/85), these are monuments that have a connection to European colonialism in Africa and are located today in countries that were significantly involved in the conference and continue to benefit from it to the present day. The selected monuments and the historical figures associated with them are still positively portrayed or even glorified in the historiography of their respective countries (and beyond). In the process, the colonial exploitation and imperialist atrocities for which they are responsible are concealed, downplayed, or glossed over. On the one hand, their part in colonialism lies in the shadows for large sections of society, while on the other hand, their actions still cast a shadow over the lives of many people.

The aim of the project is to demonumentalize these monuments by symbolically lifting them off their pedestals and charging them with new meanings. In the visual design of the cover, we address the respective monument and its colonial history. Through the lightness and malleability of the paper, their transience becomes visible.

Subsequently, the resulting impressions are performatively deformed in Ver-Formances and thus even become touchable. It becomes comprehensible: History is not static, and we are all part of it. Our concern is to break the power of the white narrative on colonialism by proposing a change of perspective. In doing so, it is important to stop reproducing the Eurocentric view and narrative without comment. It is long overdue to bring more light and attention to the historiographies and narratives of People of Color, which have often been silenced and ignored until now. Only when they are part of a shared culture of memory can we evolve into a society critical of colonialism and racism.

First stop: Berlin

The project will be carried out in Berlin from August to the end of October 2021 and is divided into four parts, so-called “Shadows.” In various formats, the participating artists and speakers will address the traces and effects of colonialism up to the present day.

Shadow#1 – Urban Interventions

Paper molding of the Bismarck statue
02–21.08.2021

Using a technique related to papier-mâché, artist duo Various & Gould and the Colonial Neighbours team have temporarily molded the Bismarck monument in Berlin (designed by Reinhold Begas in 1901) with multiple layers of paper. Parallel to the work process, the exchange with passers-by was an essential part of the project. Countless conversations were held with interested, enthusiastic or outraged visitors. In addition, there was extensive information material in German, English and in “Leichte Sprache”.


Bismarck knocked off his pedestal
21.08.2021

On the last day of work at the statue, Various & Gould have opened the paper form and took it down from the pedestal under the eyes of dozens of visitors.


Das Zentrum von Gestern, die Splitter von Heute
21.08.2021

At the same time, an artistic intervention by Daniela Medina Poch and Juan Pablo García Sossa took place. The two artists scratched a large lettering in the path to the monument: “Das Zentrum von Gestern, die Splitter von Heute”.

Shadow#2 – Urban Performance

“Gospel of Wealth”
Sunday, 12.09.2021

Performance by Thomias Radin with Natisa Exocée Kasongo, Jumoke Adeyanju and Delawhere. The fragments of the paper-Bismarck from Shadow#1 were part of this performance on the Open Monument Day. The location of the event is another public square that carries a history of violence in its name: Nettelbeckplatz, which commemorates the colonial propagandist and slave trader Joachim Nettelbeck.


Gospel of Wealth
Viewing life as a gold rush will result in worshiping the golden calf and the golden rule becomes that those who have the gold, rule!

Spirituality drops out!
Morality drops out!

Collateral damage. The myth of the one over the existence of many.

Many of you, many of us, many of them, many of me are echoing inside the empty shell of the one.

Bigidi !
Move forward!
Bigidi bigidi, head up fast forward!


„Gospel of Wealth“ questions the impact of the glorification of a western colonial figure and its heritage within the individual and collective consciousness, from an Afro-diasporic perspective. From Nigeria through Congo to the Caribbean.
In the performance, we encounter several mythologies, embodied by sonic and danced intervention. We aim to open a new conversation acknowledging and valuing collectivity over the myth of a political figure and material wealth.

Concept : Thomias Radin (Guadeloupe/FR)
Performers: Natisa Exocée Kasongo (Congo/FR), Jumoke Adeyanju (Nigeria/DE), Thomias Radin
Sound artist: Delawhere (FR)

Shadow#3 – Workshops

September–October 2021
Workshops with schools

In a workshop with pupils, the topics of remembering, history, colonialism and racism are worked out artistically and creatively.

Shadow#4 – Panel

29.10.2021 19:00
“Ein Platz an der Sonne” & its long shadows | closing event
SAVVY Contemporary, Reinickendorfer Str. 17, 13347 Berlin

To conclude the Berlin chapter, we invite you to an exchange with performances, lectures and conversations about interdisciplinary experiences and strategies in dealing with colonial heritage.

Links

Project website Monumental Shadows

Colonial Neighbours / SAVVY Contemporary

Instagram by Various & Gould


 

Colonial Neighbours

Colonial Neighbours is a long-term project by SAVVY Contemporary in Berlin. International artists, historians, cultural scholars, curators and other activists are invited to engage with German colonial history and its aftermath in the present in this participatory archive and research project.


 

Articles about „Monumental Shadows“ (selection)

Monopol Magazin (German)

Sueddeutsche Zeitung (German)

Neues Deutschland (German)

Spreeradio (German)

Radio Arty, FluxFM, 09.09.2021, 20–21 Uhr (German)


 

Documentation:

“Monumental Shadows“ is documented by Raisa M. Galofre Cortés (photos) and Frederic Leitzke / editude pictures (video). Another photo is by Pierre Adenis.


 

Informationen

The project is funded by Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa des Landes Berlin and Berliner Projektfonds Urbane Praxis, with support of Zapf Umzüge.

Bismarck and the German colonies

Bismarck is known to many people today primarily as the first German Chancellor and because of his social laws, which were progressive for the time. Many people may also still be familiar with his military appearance with pimple cap. Less well known, and thus overshadowed, is his significance for the history of German and European colonialism. As the founder of the German colonial empire, the traces of his actions still have an impact today.

Bismarck was not a colonial enthusiast for a long time. At first, he did not want any German colonies, as for him the costs and benefits were out of proportion. Nevertheless, he changed his mind. He became host and co-initiator of the “Congo Conference” in Berlin (November 15, 1884 – February 26, 1885), where the participating – mainly European states – legitimized and regulated the division and exploitation of the African continent among themselves in a common cause. And this under exclusion of any African representatives.

In 1884/85, the German Empire declared Togo, Cameroon, German Southwest Africa, German East Africa and German New Guinea as its own protectorates. Bismarck can be described as the midwife of the German Colonial Empire. The Berlin meeting had immediate consequences for the African populations. For example, the establishment of an administration in the colonized areas was made a condition for documenting colonial claims. As a result, the colonial apparatus, which in many areas was limited to the coastal regions, expanded into the interior of the country, placing many Africans directly under colonial authority and administration for the first time through taxes, forced labor and other measures.

The German colonial period, still dismissed by many as “harmless” because of its supposed brevity, was marked by massive day-to-day violence and atrocious crimes, such as the genocide of the Herero & Nama (1904-08) in what is now Namibia and the bloody suppression of the Maji-Maji uprising against colonial oppression (1905-07) in what is now Tanzania, both of which occurred just a few years after Bismarck’s resignation.

The colonial boundaries sanctioned in Berlin became the basis for postcolonial state formations and largely remain valid today. The ruthlessness toward African interests and African contexts of rule created and entrenched injustices and conflicts that continue to have an impact into the present “independent” Africa.

A present-day remembrance of Bismarck must reflect on these far-reaching effects of his governance and bring them out of the shadows into the light.

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Monumental Shadows – Koloniales Erbe neu denken

  • Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

  • Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

  • Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

  • Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

  • Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

    Foto (Detail): Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

Monumental Shadows – Koloniales Erbe neu denken

Berlin, August – Oktober 2021

Ein Projekt von Various & Gould in Zusammenarbeit mit Colonial Neighbours (SAVVY Contemporary).

„Monumental Shadows“ ist ein partizipatives Projekt im öffentlichen Raum, das das Andenken an Kolonialfiguren vom Sockel holt und die Schatten von Geschichte und Gegenwart verschiebt.

Auch wenn immer mehr europäische Länder beginnen, sich mit ihrer kolonialen Geschichte auseinandersetzen, beherrschen weitreichende Schatten deren Erinnerungskultur. Ehemals kolonisierende und kolonisierte Länder verbindet eine komplexe, gewaltvolle Vergangenheit, die bis in die heutige Zeit nachklingt. Das Kunstprojekt „Monumental Shadows“ setzt sich mit Erinnerungskultur auseinander und beschäftigt sich mit Kunstwerken und Denkmälern, die weiterhin Kolonialgeschichte in den öffentlichen Raum einschreiben. In einer Kombination aus künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit, inhaltlicher Debatte und öffentlicher Diskussion wird der Zusammenhang von Kolonialismus und heutigem Rassismus sichtbar gemacht.

Für „Monumental Shadows“ ist eine Reihe von sieben künstlerischen Papier-Abformungen von Denkmälern in Europa geplant. Vor dem historischen Hintergrund der Berliner „Kongokonferenz“ (1884/85) handelt es sich um Monumente, die einen Bezug zum europäischen Kolonialismus in Afrika haben und heute in Ländern stehen, welche maßgeblich an der Konferenz beteiligt waren und bis bis in die Gegenwart von ihr profitieren. Die ausgewählten Denkmäler und die mit ihnen verbundenen historischen Persönlichkeiten werden in der Geschichtsschreibung ihres jeweiligen Landes (und darüber hinaus) noch immer positiv dargestellt oder sogar glorifiziert. Dabei werden die koloniale Ausbeutung und imperialistischen Gräuel, für die sie verantwortlich zeichnen, verschwiegen, verharmlost oder beschönigt. Einerseits liegt ihr Anteil am Kolonialismus für große Teile der Gesellschaft im Schatten, während ihr Wirken andererseits noch immer einen Schatten auf die Leben vieler Menschen wirft.

Ziel des Projektes ist es, diese Denkmäler zu entmonumentalisieren, indem wir sie symbolisch vom Sockel heben und mit neuen Bedeutungen aufladen. Bei der visuellen Gestaltung der Hülle gehen wir auf das jeweilige Monument und dessen koloniale Geschichte ein. Durch die Leichtigkeit und Verformbarkeit des Papiers wird ihre Vergänglichkeit sichtbar.

Anschließend werden die entstandenen Abformungen in Ver-Formances performativ verformt und damit sogar berührbar. Es wird begreifbar: Geschichte ist nicht statisch, und wir sind alle Teil von ihr. Unser Anliegen ist es, die Wirkmacht der weißen Narration zum Kolonialismus zu brechen, indem wir einen Perspektivwechsel vorschlagen. Dabei ist es wichtig, die eurozentristische Sicht und Erzählweise nicht länger unkommentiert zu reproduzieren. Es ist längst überfällig, die bisher häufig verschwiegenen und ignorierten Geschichtsschreibungen und -erzählungen von People of Color stärker ins Licht und in die Aufmerksamkeit zu rücken. Erst wenn sie Teil einer gemeinsamen Erinnerungskultur sind, können wir uns zu einer kolonial- und rassismuskritischen Gesellschaft entwickeln.

Erste Station: Berlin

Das Projekt wird von August bis Ende Oktober 2021 in Berlin durchgeführt und gliedert sich in vier Teile, sogenannte „Shadows“. In verschiedenen Formaten werden die teilnehmenden Künstler*innen und Sprecher*innen die Spuren und Auswirkungen des Kolonialismus bis zum heutigen Tag thematisieren.

Shadow#1 – Urbane Interventionen

Papier-Abformung der Bismarck-Statue im Tiergarten, Berlin
02.–21.08.2021

Mit einer dem Papiermaché verwandten Technik haben Various & Gould und Colonial Neighbours das Bismarck-Denkmal (1901 von Reinhold Begas) temporär mit mehreren Schichten aus Papier kaschiert und abgeformt. Begleitend zum Arbeitsprozess war der Austausch mit Passant*innen wichtig. Es wurden unzählige Gespräche geführt mit interessierten, begeisterten oder empörten Besucher*innen. Außerdem gab es umfangreiches Informationsmaterial auf Deutsch, Englisch und in Leichter Sprache.


Bismarck kommt vom Sockel
21.08.2021

Am letzten Tag der Arbeit an der Statue, wurde die Papierform von Various & Gould unter den Augen Dutzender Besucher*innen geöffnet und vom Sockel geholt.


Das Zentrum von Gestern, die Splitter von Heute
21.08.2021

Gleichzeitig gab es eine künstlerische Intervention von Daniela Medina Poch und Juan Pablo García Sossa. Die beiden Künstler*innen haben einen großen Schriftzug in den Weg zum Denkmal gekratzt: „Das Zentrum von Gestern, die Splitter von Heute“.

Shadow#2 – Urbane Performance

„Gospel of Wealth“
Sonntag 12.09.2021, 16:00 Uhr

Performance von Thomias Radin mit Natisa Exocée Kasongo, Jumoke Adeyanju und Delawhere. Die Papierfragmente der Bismarck-Abformung aus Shadow#1 waren Teil dieser Performance am Tag des offenen Denkmals. Ort der Veranstaltung war ein weiterer öffentlicher Platz, der in seinem Name eine Geschichte von Gewalt trägt: Der Nettelbeckplatz, der an den Kolonialpropagandisten und Sklavenhändler Joachim Nettelbeck erinnert.


Gospel of Wealth
Viewing life as a gold rush will result in worshiping the golden calf and the golden rule becomes that those who have the gold, rule!

Spirituality drops out!
Morality drops out!

Collateral damage. The myth of the one over the existence of many.

Many of you, many of us, many of them, many of me are echoing inside the empty shell of the one.

Bigidi !
Move forward!
Bigidi bigidi, head up fast forward!


„Gospel of Wealth“ hinterfragt, wie sich die Verherrlichung einer westlichen Kolonialfigur und deren Erbe im individuellen und kollektiven Bewusstsein auswirkt – aus einer afrodiasporischen Perspektive, von Nigeria über den Kongo bis zur Karibik.
In der Performance begegnen wir verschiedenen Mythologien, die durch klangliche und tänzerische Interventionen verkörpert werden. Wir haben vor, ein neues Gespräch zu beginnen, das Kollektivität gegenüber dem Mythos einer politischen Figur und materiellem Reichtum anerkennt und wertschätzt.

Konzept : Thomias Radin (Guadeloupe/FR)
Performer*in: Natisa Exocée Kasongo (Congo/FR), Jumoke Adeyanju (Nigeria/DE), Thomias Radin
Sound-Künstler: Delawhere (FR)

Shadow#3 – Workshops

September-Oktober 2021
Workshops mit Schulen

In einem Workshop mit Schüler*innen werden künstlerisch und kreativ die Themen Erinnern, Geschichte, Kolonialismus und Rassismus erarbeitet.

Shadow#4 – Panel

29.10.2021 19:00
„Ein Platz an der Sonne“ & seine langen Schatten | Abschlussveranstaltung
SAVVY Contemporary, Reinickendorfer Str. 17, 13347 Berlin

Zum Abschluss des Berlin-Kapitels laden wir Euch zu einem Austausch mit Performances, Vorträgen und Gesprächen über interdisziplinäre Erfahrungen und Strategien beim Umgang mit kolonialem Erbe ein.

Links

Projektwebseite Monumental Shadows

Bilder aus dem Arbeitsprozess auf Instagram von Various & Gould

Colonial Neighbours / SAVVY Contemporary


 

Colonial Neighbours

Colonial Neighbours ist ein Langzeit-Projekt von SAVVY Contemporary in Berlin. Internationale Künstler*innen, Historiker*innen, Kulturwissenschaftler*innen, Kurator*innen und andere Aktivist*innen sind eingeladen, sich in diesem partizipativen Archiv- und Forschungsprojekt mit der deutschen Kolonialgeschichte und ihren Nachwirkungen in der Gegenwart zu beschäftigen.


 

Presse zu „Monumental Shadows“ (Auswahl)

Monopol Magazin

Süddeutsche Zeitung

Neues Deutschland

Spreeradio

Radio Arty, FluxFM, 09.09.2021, 20–21 Uhr


 

Dokumentation:

“Monumental Shadows“ wird von Raisa M. Galofre Cortés (Fotos) und Frederic Leitzke / editude pictures (Film) begleitet. Ein weiteres Foto stammt von Pierre Adenis.


 

Informationen

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa des Landes Berlin und dem Berliner Projektfonds Urbane Praxis, mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Zapf Umzüge.

Bismarck und die deutschen Kolonien

Bismarck ist vielen Menschen heutzutage vor allem als erster deutscher Reichskanzler und wegen seiner für die damalige Zeit fortschrittlichen Sozialgesetze ein Begriff. Auch sein militärisches Auftreten mit Pickelhaube mag sicherlich vielen noch geläufig sein. Weniger bekannt, und somit im Schatten, ist seine Bedeutung für die Geschichte des deutschen und europäischen Kolonialismus. Als Begründer des deutschen Kolonialreiches wirken die Spuren seines Handelns bis heute.

Bismarck war lange Zeit kein Kolonialenthusiast. Er wollte zunächst keine deutschen Kolonien, da für ihn Kosten und Nutzen in keinem Verhältnis zueinander standen. Dennoch änderte er seine Meinung. Er wurde Gastgeber und Mitinitiator der „Kongo-Konferenz“ in Berlin (15. November 1884 – 26. Februar 1885), bei der die teilnehmenden – hauptsächlich europäischen Staaten – in gemeinsamer Sache die Aufteilung und Ausbeutung des afrikanischen Kontinents untereinander legitimierten und regulierten. Und das unter Ausschluss jeglicher afrikanischer Vertreter*innen.

Das Deutsche Reich erklärte in den Jahren 1884/85 Togo, Kamerun, Deutsch-Südwestafrika, Deutsch-Ostafrika und Deutsch-Neuguinea zu eigenen Schutzgebieten. Bismarck kann als der Geburtshelfer¹ des Deutschen Kolonialreiches bezeichnet werden. Die Berliner Zusammenkunft hatte unmittelbare Auswirkungen für die afrikanischen Bevölkerungen. Man hatte z.B. den Aufbau einer Verwaltung in den kolonisierten Gebieten zur Bedingung gemacht, um Kolonialansprüche zu dokumentieren. Das führte dazu, dass sich der in vielen Gegenden auf die Küstenregionen beschränkte koloniale Apparat ins Landesinnere ausweitete, und viele Afrikaner*innen durch Steuern, Zwangsarbeit und andere Maßnahmen erstmals direkt der kolonialen Gewalt und Verwaltung unterstellte.

Die deutsche Kolonialzeit, die noch immer von vielen aufgrund ihrer vermeintlichen Kürze als „harmlos“ abgetan wird, war von massiver tagtäglicher Gewalt und grausamen Verbrechen bestimmt, wie zum Beispiel der Genozid an den Herero & Nama (1904-08) im heutigen Namibia sowie die blutige Niederschlagung des Maji-Maji-Aufstands gegen die koloniale Unterdrückung (1905-07) im heutigen Tansania, die beide nur einige Jahre nach Bismarcks Rücktritt stattfanden.

Die in Berlin sanktionierten Kolonialgrenzen wurden zur Grundlage der postkolonialen Staatsgründungen und haben weitgehend bis heute Gültigkeit. Die Rücksichtslosigkeit gegenüber afrikanischen Interessen und afrikanischen Herrschaftszusammenhängen haben Ungerechtigkeiten und Konflikte hervorgerufen und verfestigt, die bis ins jetzige „unabhängige“ Afrika wirken.

Eine heutige Erinnerung an Bismarck muss diese weitreichenden Auswirkungen seines Regierens reflektieren und aus dem Schatten ans Licht holen.

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!