BAUKUNST! #2 @ Galerie Borchardt, Hamburg

Extended duration of the exhibition until April 01st, 2024.

The exhibition, which is being shown in the rooms of the Borchardt Gallery and the BAID architectural office, takes a look at artists who use architectural offsets in their work and alienate them to the point of irritation, with subtle lightness and an occasional wink.


The exhibition was curated by Jan Kage and Peter Borchardt. Participating artists: Clemens Behr, Anina Brisolla, Julia Eichler, Jay Gard, Katharine Harvey, Stohead, Trak Wendisch, Various & Gould

On the occasion of the exhibition, Various & Gould put a long-cherished plan into practice and worked with new materials. The approach: to create a symbiosis of art and function in which a work of art also improves the room acoustics.

Recycled PET felt and wood wool were used for the modular wall collage in the gallery. The latter is commonly known as “sauerkraut board”. It can absorb noise and is used to line many a functional building, but has never looked particularly good. Yet there are so many exciting things that can be done with this material.

Borchardt Gallery
Hopfensack 19
20457 Hamburg

A joint exhibition as part of the Hamburg Architecture Summer 2023

BAUKUNST! #2 @ Galerie Borchardt, Hamburg

Verlängerte Laufzeit der Ausstellung bis 01. April 2024.

Die Ausstellung, die in den Räumen der Galerie Borchardt und des Architekturbüros BAID gezeigt wird, wirft einen Blick auf Künstler, die in ihrer Arbeit auf architektonische Versatzstücke zurückgreifen und sie bis zur Irritation hin verfremden, mit hintergründiger Leichtigkeit und gelegentlichem Augenzwinkern.

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Jan Kage und Peter Borchardt. Teilnehmende Künstler*innen: Clemens Behr, Anina Brisolla, Julia Eichler, Jay Gard, Katharine Harvey, Stohead, Trak Wendisch, Various & Gould

Anlässlich der Ausstellung haben Various & Gould einen lang gehegten Plan in die Tat umgesetzt und mit neuen Materialien gearbeitet. Der Ansatz: Eine Symbiose aus Kunst und Funktion zu schaffen, bei der ein Kunstwerk ganz nebenbei die Raumakustik verbessert.

Für die modulare Wand-Collage in der Galerie wurden recycelter PET-Filz und Holzwolle benutzt. Letztere ist gemeinhin bekannt als „Sauerkrautplatte“. Sie kann Geräusche absorbieren, und kleidet so manchen Zweckbau aus, sah jedoch bislang nie besonders gut aus. Dabei lässt sich so einiges spannendes mit diesem Material machen. 

Galerie Borchardt
Hopfensack 19
20457 Hamburg

Eine Gemeinschaftsausstellung im Rahmen des Hamburger Architektur Sommers 2023