Rabotniki

  • "Mrs. Dangling & Joe – Killing Hours" (detail) @ Brooklynite Gallery, New York 2010

  • "Rabotnika", collage paste-up, New York 2010 (photo: Just / 1just.de)

  • "Curtain Call" (in process), Berlin 2016

  • "Rabotnika", collage paste-up, Mumbai 2011

  • "Transfer" (detail), Berlin 2012

Rabotniki

Figurative Dada-Collages

The ongoing series consists of figurative screen-print collages inspired by the spirit of Dada and Surrealism. The name derives from the Russian word for workers, raising questions such as: What is work? Or where do I find work?

Physical work becomes increasingly invisible and more difficult to grasp. The Rabotniki figures also seem as they have fallen out of time, appearing alienated but nevertheless proud and confident. Whatever the Rabotniki are working on, they do it with heart, sweat and soul.

In those pieces they raise the curtain on some kind of dream logic. A regiment of multicolored patchwork characters tumbles on stage from another space-time continuum. Surrounded by mysterious, partly disturbing sceneries, these carnies, utopians and adventurists make their way with the unflinching confidence of a modern Munchausen. Various & Gould often incorporate personal experiences of closeness, distance and deracination into their imagery.

“A world where workers trade body parts depending on their needs, moving in tandem while performing their repetitive tasks in a choreographed ‘workers waltz’. Using found objects, work related symbols and their refined silkscreen techniques, the line between work and play becomes blurred inside the imaginative minds of Various & Gould.”Rae McGrath, Brooklynite Gallery, NYC, 2010

Related Links


Dada turns 100 – long live the nonsense! Infected with these high-spirits, Various & Gould have locked themselves in the laboratory for several months creating new, surreal artworks from the “Rabotniki” series for their first solo exhibition “Permanently Improvised” at Anno Domini Gallery.

More information about the “Permanently Improvised” show


Pieces from “Rabotniki” and other series can be found here:

Originals / Screen Prints / Urban Art

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Rabotniki

  • "Mrs. Dangling & Joe – Killing Hours" (Detail) @ Brooklynite Gallery, New York 2010

  • "Rabotnika", Collage-Paste-Up, New York 2010 (Photo: Just / 1just.de)

  • "Curtain Call" (in Arbeit), Berlin 2016

  • "Rabotnika", Collage-Paste-Up, Mumbai 2011

  • "Transfer" (Detail), Berlin 2012

Rabotniki

Dadaistische Collage-Figuren

Die im Jahr 2009 begonnene und immer noch wachsende Serie ist die zweite Werkreihe von Various & Gould. Sie besteht vor allem aus figürlichen Siebdruck-Collagen, die im Geiste von Dada und Surrealismus stehen. Der Name leitet sich vom russischen Wort für Arbeiter ab.

Die Serie beschäftigt sich mit dem gesellschaftlichen Stellenwert von Arbeit und daraus resultieren­den Fragen wie: Was ist Arbeit? Wie viel ist meine Arbeit wert? Und warum muss ich überhaupt arbeiten? Physische Arbeit wird stetig unsichtbarer, man kann sie immer schwerer greifen, und oftmals wirkt sie sogar sinnlos.

So erscheinen die aus vielfarbigen Einzelteilen zusammengesetzten Rabotniki-Figuren aus einem anderen Raum-Zeit-Kontinuum auf die Bühne gepurzelt zu sein und einer Traumlogik zu folgen. Inmitten rätselhafter, teilweise beunruhigender Szenerien behaupten sich diese Schwärmer, Gaukler und Abenteurer mit der unbeirrbaren Zuversicht eines modernen Münchhausens. Various & Gould thematisieren in ihren Arbeiten persönliche Erfahrungen von Nähe, Distanz und Entwurzelung.

„Eine Welt, in denen Arbeiter ihre letztes Hemd geben […], sich in Reihe und Glied bewegen, Tag für Tag aufs Neue performen – wie bei einem choreographierten ‚Bauarbeiter-Ballett‘. Mithilfe von gefundenen Objekten, thematisch passenden Symbolen und ihrer raffinierten Siebdruck Technik, verschwimmt die Grenze zwischen Arbeit und Spiel in den Köpfen von Various & Gould.“Rae McGrath, Brooklynite Gallery, NYC, 2010

Links zur Serie


Dada wird 100 – es lebe der Nonsens! Von diesem Übermut angesteckt haben sich Various & Gould mehrere Monate lang im Labor eingeschlossen und für ihre erste Einzelausstellung „Permanently Improvised“ in der Anno Domini Galerie neue, surreale Werke aus der „Rabotniki“ Serie geschaffen.

Mehr Infos zur Ausstellung „Permanently Improvised“


Werke aus „Rabotniki“ und anderen Serien sind hier zu finden:

Originale / Siebdrucke / Urban Art

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!