Permanently Improvised, San Jose

  • "Dark Matter", Berlin 2016, acrylic, screen print, collage and aerosol on wood, 52 x 75 cm

  • "Curtain Call" (in process), Berlin 2016

  • "Permanently Improvised" (solo show) @ Anno Domini Gallery, San Jose 2016 (photo: Jerome Sevilla)

Permanently Improvised

April 1 - June 18, 2016
Anno Domini
San Jose

Dada turns 100 – long live the nonsense! Infected with these high-spirits, Various & Gould have locked themselves in the laboratory for several months creating new, surreal artworks for their first solo exhibition “Permanently Improvised” at Anno Domini Gallery.

By merging methods such as painting, serigraphy and collage in their unique way, Various & Gould keep on extending the series “Rabotniki”. In those pieces they raise the curtain on some kind of dream logic. A regiment of multicolored patchwork characters tumbles on stage from another space-time continuum. Surrounded by mysterious, partly disturbing sceneries, these carnies, utopians and adventurists make their way with the unflinching confidence of a modern Munchausen.

Various – born near San Jose but grown up in the divided Berlin – and her partner Gould both address personal experiences of closeness, distance and deracination, and also reference the current refugee situation in Europe. For the first time, the two artists have portrayed people from their personal sphere of family and friends. The results are poetic, sometimes intimate works that blur the line between reality and fiction.

The exhibition also includes a selection of canvas pieces, reminding of popular jumping-jack cut-outs covered with individual body parts and objects. This juxtaposition of loose elements and final collages provides an insight into the duos‘ intuitive working process. Suitably the title “Permanently Improvised” is a tribute to the DIY culture, and a reference to everlasting workarounds, precarious existences and a fundamental attitude towards life.

Permanently Improvised

April 1 – June 18, 2016
Solo show

Anno Domini Gallery
366 South First Street
CA 95113, US
www.galleryad.com


Related Links

Permanently Improvised on Brooklyn Street Art (BSA)

Permanently Improvised on Urbanshit

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Permanently Improvised, San Jose

  • "Dark Matter", Berlin 2016, Acryl, Siebdruck, Collage und Aerosol auf Holz, 52 x 75 cm

  • "Curtain Call" (in Arbeit), Berlin 2016

  • "Permanently Improvised" (Einzelausstellung) @ Anno Domini Galerie, San Jose 2016 (Photo: Jerome Sevilla)

Permanently Improvised

01. April - 18. Juni 2016
Anno Domini
San Jose

Dada wird 100 – es lebe der Nonsens! Von diesem Übermut angesteckt haben sich Various & Gould mehrere Monate lang im Labor eingeschlossen und für ihre erste Einzelausstellung „Permanently Improvised“ in der Anno Domini Galerie neue, surreale Werke geschaffen.

Dabei führen die Künstler in ihrer einzigartigen Mischtechnik aus Malerei, Siebruck und Collage die Serie „Rabotniki“ fort: Die aus vielfarbigen Einzelteilen zusammengesetzten Figuren scheinen aus einem anderen Raum-Zeit-Kontinuum auf die Bühne gepurzelt zu sein und einer Traumlogik zu folgen. Inmitten rätselhafter, teilweise beunruhigender Szenerien behaupten sich diese Schwärmer, Gaukler und Abenteurer mit der unbeirrbaren Zuversicht eines modernen Münchhausens.

Die in der Nähe von San Jose geborene, aber im geteilten Berlin aufgewachsene Various und ihr Partner Gould thematisieren in ihren Arbeiten persönliche Erfahrungen von Nähe, Distanz und Entwurzelung, lassen aber auch Referenzen zur aktuellen Flüchtlingssituation in Europa einfließen. Zum ersten Mal haben die beiden Künstler dabei Menschen aus ihrem persönlichen Umfeld porträtiert. Das Ergebnis sind poetische, mitunter intime Werke, die die Grenze zwischen Realem und Phantastischem verschwimmen lassen.

Zu sehen sind außerdem Leinwandarbeiten, die wie klassische Bilderbögen anmuten und auf denen einzelne Körperteile und Gegenstände kreuz und quer verteilt sind. Diese Gegenüberstellung der losen Elemente und der fertigen Collagen gewährt einen Einblick in den intuitiven Arbeitsprozess des Künstler-Duos. Dazu passend ist der Titel „Permanentely Improvised“ eine Hommage an die DIY-Kultur, aber auch eine Referenz an dauerhafte Übergangslösungen, prekäre Existenzen und ein zutiefst menschliches Lebensgefühl.

Permanently Improvised

01. April – 18. Juni 2016
Einzelausstellung

Anno Domini Gallery
366 South First Street
San Jose, CA 95113
www.galleryad.com


Links

Permanently Improvised auf Brooklyn Street Art (BSA)

Permanently Improvised auf Urbanshit

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!